MRF Tyres Boddington Rally

Over the June long weekend, the LCC ran the MRF Tyres Boddington Rally, round 3 of the WARC. Clerk of Course Wendy Walker and her team put on a compact event that attracted 39 cars to the mining town of Boddington. The six stage dash around the blue gum plantations totaled 90km. The twisty technical roads and loose gravel certainly kept everyone on their toes.

Amongst the championship regulars, Dean Herridge came out for a play. It was a last minute decision to enter the WRX which resulted in Dean and co-driver Jimmy Marquet walking away with the win.

In the 2wd standings Raz Vlad/Daymon Nicoli (Ford Fiesta) won out over Tim Wilde/Madeline Kirkhouse in their Honda Civic. Geoff Leatt-Hayter/Paul Helm may have been a chance, however brake and turbo issues niggled their Nissan Sil80.

Brendan Quartermaine/Ashley Burton had a troubled event, rolling their Nissan Sunny on SS4.

Within the Clubman Cup, it was Brock Nicoli/Dan Adams who took the win in their Hyundai Lantra. Chris Bowley/Steve Wade were second in their Ford Fiesta and Andrew Percival/Jim Pearce grabbed third.


Rounding out the WARC, Nic Box/Todd Payne drove to second in their Evo 7 and Mick Steele/Tracey Dewhurst brought their ex works WRX STi to third.

Here’s the video: